The 30-day permit is required by the State of California for subbing in the classroom. TeachStart Scholar and Scholar+ Fellows in California are required to obtain a permit prior to the start date of the program. The permit is issued by the California Commission on Teacher Credentialing (CTC). In order to obtain a 30-day permit, fellows must satisfy the basic skills requirement.For more information on the substitute teaching permit and fulfilling the basic skills requirement, you can visit the following website:
We recommend applying for the 30-day permit at least six weeks prior to your start date with TeachStart, as there can often be hold-ups in the permitting process.